Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Rupert the Bear

When I was a little girl, I adored Rupert the Bear, getting the annual for Christmas was a highlight for me, and I have kept them all. All the houses in the stories seemed to have mysterious rooms and secret passages, the countryside was full of hidden paths and caves. Rupert and his pals roamed for miles having adventures, which was sort of what I did as a child - although the adventures were much more mundane. The story of Rupert and Raggety gave me nightmares though, I wonder if anyone else remembers it.

So, today we were at Beaumont Park , one of my favourite places in Huddersfield.
I have Blipped it before as part of the A-Z, and the connection with Rupert is that it is full of interesting, secret nooks and crannies, the stuff of adventures! The big sandstone cliffs have little balconies cut into them, which you have to reach either by windy steps or by finding your way through overgrown paths. Some of the caves have had steps built into them, and you occasionally come across a break in the trees revealing amazing views across the valley. Sarah, Lizzie and I had a great time, topped off by a trip for Dixons ice-cream.

My Mum is on the train for the long journey home, David is lugging his backpack full of beer to Leeds, I feel that my nest is empty. Sorry to see my Mum go, although she has driven me insane in only the way someone you love can, and it will be good to have a few relaxing days now. I suspect my Mum was most sad to say goodbye to the dog!

I hope to catch up on journals now, although I really should be doing some work.....


PS remember this?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.