Great White Egret @RSPBMiddleton

I had a fantastic walk at Middleton Lakes this afternoon. I had intended to take a quick stroll, disturb a few damselflies, and then proceed to Tamworth Marks and Spencer.

I got distracted - and chatting - and saw all sorts of things.

The star of the show is the recent visitor (and hopefully resident) Great White Egret. This bird rarely ventures this far north (I am told) and arrived on the scene about a week and a half ago. I had been to the reserve and heard about it, but didn't think I would have any luck, and on that occasion, I didn't.

I was chatting to a guy who really knew about birds (and butterflies) and he pointed to the egret who had just begun his flight across one of the North Pools. I thanked him and said I'd never have spotted it. His reply was that I had my back to it (very kind of him, as I don't know one bird from another.)

Everyone is really excited about this new visitor and I'm pretty thrilled that I got a photo too.

I also ran into the friendly little scruffy robin again
He insisted I put him on Blip

I rather liked this swan shot

And I did hassle the odd damselfy
as well as watching this mass arrival

Needless to say, I didn't get to M & S....... But I had far more fun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.