Hirundography

By Hirundo

The Ashes Series

Bad temper stops play!

I was standing under the walkway over the bridge (left hand image) and heard, rather than saw, an Australian tour guide shouting at and leading these overseas tourists at break-neck pace around the city. These few were the tail-enders…

“…And this city has history, it has a castle, it has a cathedral, it has cobbled streets…” Blah, blah, blah.

Then, ten minutes later, as I was carrying on my cycle ride to work, I saw him (dark blue shirt, sunglasses, facing us) with them on the steps of the Minster (right hand image)

“…And if you were paying attention, and listening to me…”

The funny thing was, I could see from their glazed expressions that most of them didn’t understand English – and particularly his irritated (for some reason) tone…

”Calm it mate, have another tinny; there’ll be chance to try and win the Ashes another year!”

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.