Covet

By covet

Hardangerbrua

Hardangerbrua.

1,310 metres long - that's a pretty impressive bridge. Accessed by tunnels - one 7.7km long - with a roundabout INSIDE the tunnel. I'm dizzy with the feats of engineering going on here.

So yes - Espen's grandparents took us on a road trip today - to see this bridge. We turned up at their house yesterday to make plans, to find that Espens grandfather had just returned from the car wash -in preparation for the journey today. Amazing. I don't know what to say - I'm so grateful for everyone's time, their generosity, and their patience while I walk back and forth over the bridge, taking in the views. And I do really love the bridge - but roundabouts in tunnels, all lit up in neon? That's crazy stuff. I love it all.

We continue through hardangervidda, the fruit garden of Norway, speeding past orchards, and cherry stalls by the road. To waterfalls, through more fjords, breathtaking mountains. And just when I think I can't take any more in - we stop. At the Ullensvang Hotel. For a surprise, unscheduled break. Espens grandfather goes in to see if they have rooms - I think he does this just to see the expressions on our faces. And that is us for the day - (with our borrowed swimming things!) splashing around in the outdoor pool, the jacuzzis, and lying low in the glass fronted sauna, just gazing down the fjord...

Why can't every day be like this?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.