ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Gate Towers at Zierikzee ('ZierikZAY')

If you want to imagine how this looked 500 or so years ago, just imagine a high massive wall on either side of this gate. After that, imagine that this was the only entrance into the town, and after medieval curfew it would be shut and locked, and if you were left outside because you tarried, you could just possibly be at the mercy of marauding gangs and 'highwaymen'. Not entirely dissimilar to our taxmen.

I had actually also taken good shots of the windmill at Moriaanshoofd, but, I thought, nah, you've had way too many windmills of late. Not healthy, not good at all.

Sunny day! Guess what ... there is such a thing as 'working at home', which, trust me, I have 'un-learned'. In the days of the police academy, I took all my digital work home and forgot it was the weekend. That is all past tense. Today, I sat down and diligently finished my planning and then decided not to waste what was left of the afternoon. This coming Sunday, I might go to France, to a little medieval town called Laon, to buy more bottles (boxes?) of the wine we both find so delightful. Might. It will depend on how late Saturday night is and if my legs will be up to sitting for hours in the car.

In the meantime, there's tomorrow. I already have a blip in mind. Now, hopefully, the weather will cooperate.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.