Sooty

By SueT123

Family history

Last year, my Mum said that she had an old case of letters in the summer house and asked me if I would like to look at them. She didn't want them and so I was thrilled to be able to have them. They come from my Dad's side of the family.
I was amazed, there are old photos and letters dating back to the 1830's!
They make fascinating reading and give a great insight into the world of ordinary farming folk in Surrey in the 1800's and early 1900's.
I started transcribing them but gave up when the garden started to need attention. However, I am back into it now and have about eight or so left to transcribe which I am going to start today (as my son is away at a wedding and my husband is away sailing)!
I write exactly what they have written, spelling and punctuation and so on.
If you look 'large' you may be able to read some of them including the cure for the Hooping cough, which ends, no cure no pay!
I have already transcribed the letter in the lid of the case and if you read it it may put a rosier light on the state of the NHS today!!
Have a good weekend :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.