BryanImagining

By BryanImagining

The mother of invention

The trick to cutting insulation, I'm learning, is to have a straight edge firmly compressing the rolled insulation. Then a sharp utility knife can easily slice off a hunk (technical term).

Necessity Laziness is the mother of invention. I quickly tired of kneeling on the floor with a piece of wood. So I made a tabletop from an old closet door; added a couple of shelf brackets so the roll won't fall off, and installed a hinged piece of wood as my cutting guide. With a flick of the wrist the wood pivots out of the way, and another hunk is easily unrolled to length, ready to slice.

Carol and I spent the weekend insulating her future sewing /craft room, and I thought it fitting that I craft a tool in the room to help us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.