Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Wet Floors

This is the st Ives Inshore Lifeboat returning at 12 from a shout to assist 2 wake boarding boats in trouble off Porthkidney beach.

Why "Wet Floors" ? well . . . I am on call this week and am the contact point between Falmouth Coastguard and St Ives RNLI Station. The way Falmouth contact us is by setting off a pager with a "Launch request" which prompts me to phone them. The problem is that this inevitably happens when Im in the bathroom, I swear then have CCTV in my house and wait. Today I didnt have a shower until 11-30am and they still got me !

So, the wet floors come from me getting out of the shower and running naked to the patio to make a phone call as cell phones dont work in granite buildings. Fortunately I have few neighbors and a well fenced garden so I havent been arrested, yet.

All was well in the end though, the floor has dried and the 2 boats are now in St Ives Harbour for repairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.