Homecoming

This is the McMinnville High School gym this morning at the district's welcome back gathering. I have this advantageous view because I was on stage speaking to them all. . I used the old Bud Clark ploy, the ex-mayor of Portland who used to photograph all of his public appearances. For the sake of time, I didn't explain that it was for a blip photo. I sweated and toiled over these words, but they were straight from the heart. I think it went well; someone caught me after the speech and said, "...outta the park!" The truth is, these were only stories, but I love telling stories. I miss these people already, and I feel so honored to have had this opportunity today. What a blessed life I had in teaching, and a blessed life to still share it now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.