Keep Your Beak Shut

Pigeon: " Is this it?"

Me: "Yup."

Pigeon: "Our secret feeding spot?"

Me: " Yup."

Pigeon: "Can I bring the guys?"

Me: "Nope."

Pigeon: "Whoa. Really?"

Me: "Really."

Pigeon: "How am I going to explain that?"

Me: "Well, I don't know, but if you tell all your buddies it won't be a secret anymore."

Pigeon: "Oh. Yeah. How about if we come one at a time?"

Me: "Do you really think that'll work, or will you all be lined up outside the gate?"

Pigeon: "I think we can pull it off."

Me: "I'm not so sure. If you blow it I won't be able to put food in the secret spot."

Pigeon: "The guys can be cool."

Me: "Look, just keep your beak shut, okay?"


The bird feeding ban is still in effect, but one pigeon showed up and I couldn't resist putting a bit of food in a little hole in the patio, which he seemed to appreciate. I fear that this won't last long because they can't keep a secret and tomorrow I'll have twenty of them by the front door.

Sneak-feeding is no fun at all for the birds or me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.