cultureandlife

By cultureandlife

Cheap accommodation

At first glance this just looked like bags of rubbish lying in Queens Park next to Holyrood Palace. When J and I got closer though it was two people zipped up in their Bivi bags. Now these weren't the cheap thick orange plastic ones but the real deal gortex, so in a way upmarket outdoor sleeping.

I remember the last time I did that with my friend Suzanne, when we thought doing 8 munros in one go in Glen Affric was a great idea. The only downside is that we snuggled down next to a ruin, watching an amazing sunset over Skye's Cullin Ridge. Woke up at 5am freezing cold with the mist rolling around us. We picked a place too high up the mountain. so got our kit together and bagged another two munros before 7am, I fired up the stove, made a brew, finished the other two munros and were in the pub by 3pm. Success

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.