Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Strasse Gesperrt

Yesterday...all roads led to crazy

Today, my road is crazy!

They've closed the street in front of my house for the annual "Stiftstrasse Fest" - a neighborhood festival that always happens the last weekend of August, and which we've missed each of the last two years here. This year, half of my family is out of town, but I am here with my sons to experience it.

Tonight, technically, they are only setting up for tomorrow's opening. But from the music and voices blaring outside my window... the party is already in full swing. I'm toying with the idea of going out and trying to meet some of my neighbors. (Sadly, after two years here, I only know three other people on my street.) But also feeling a bit shy.

It would be easier if my husband were here - I think most of the folks out there tonight are men and so I'd be more comfortable venturing out with him. But alone.... not sure how to approach the group or what to say... it's too late to offer help at this hour, they are just sitting around drinking now under the main tent. Just as we used to do when we set up the annual carnival at my kids' old school in the US. The night before carnival was always the best - when volunteers hung out and relaxed with a few beers and loud music. If I had some baked treats to bring over and offer...that would be a good start. But I suspect I'll just sit here and sip on some wine alone, wishing I were part of the party and enjoying the fact that others are having a good time. It actually does make me happy to listen to others having fun.

But I suspect the ones out there tonight, who volunteered to make this happen and worked hard all evening - those are the kind of people I would really like. So it's a shame I can't figure out how to go meet them. I know I wouldn't be struggling with this at all if we were back home on my turf in the US. But this is my adopted country and I've had some "once bitten, twice shy" experiences with the culture in social circles...so... here I sit, airing my thoughts at a computer :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.