Journey forward

By Popsicle

365 at last!!! - Pinwheel Calculator

Eventually I have 365 in just over 2 years.

Many thanks to all, - subscribers and others who have visited my journal. I am not a regular responder to all your comments, but everyone of them has been appreciated.

Depicted above is an Odhner Pinwheel Calculator, which I still have, although it could do with a bit of a service. Some of my peers may remember these machines, which we were still using in the early 1970's as part of my work in the sawmill that I was employed by at the time. One became quite adept in their use, but I am now a bit rusty in that respect.

An internet search gave me a bit of the machines history:

W.T. Odhner invented his very successful 'pinwheel' four function calculator mechanism in Russia in 1874, and his invention was cloned by various companies, resulting in dozens of similar models that remained in use for almost a century. The machine depicted above was made by the Odhner firm in Sweden around 1940. It is heavy with mechanical subtleties: just press a key, to advance the carriage with a well-oiled, assertive 'thump-clunk', and you get a feeling of being in the presence of a piece of quality engineering.
Numbers are dialed into the sliding levers on the top part of the machine, and are added to the register visible in the carriage at the bottom when the large crank is turned. Shifting the carriage sideways allows multiplication through a sequence of addition operations; the two small cranks zero the registers. The design includes ingenious error-preventing interlocks between all the controls: should the operator fail to return a crank to its resting position, the other controls are frozen until this is corrected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.