MShelley

By MShelley

A meeting in Second Life

I have mentioned about Second Life in my blips in June and July. Second Life is a 3D virtual world in which users can interact with one another via their avatars. A group of educators and researchers meet every Thursday to explore and share how Second Life and other virtual worlds could be used in education - for example, for team meetings in group projects, or for attending seminars, tutorials, etc.

This is a picture which features me and my colleague who is in mid-80s. We, along with other colleagues, were in today's meeting.

My colleague (a retired academic and featured in this picture) lives in the US and continues to influence educational activities in Second Life through his participation in conferences/meetings, etc. I was recently talking to him about how Second Life has influenced his social life - now that he is retired - he attends a number of events in Second Life such as the theatre and music concerts. He said the following to me:

"Now if there were a theatre group in <<name of a town>> which is where I live, .... I would have to figure out how to get down town. Furthermore I’d have to make arrangements, leave 45 minutes early and of course it would take me 30 minutes to get back. So I would be spending all evening, if that were the time of the meeting, either getting there or getting back or in the meeting. It takes me 30 seconds at most to get here, more likely 10 seconds."

He is implying about how it is so easy to attend plays and music concerts in this virtual world rather than having to go through all the hassles for real-life events.

Some other pictures of today's meeting in Second Life are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.