Sense of Purpose

By brainfreeze

Rantakenttä

I know this is not a very good shot (I took it while driving), but I felt like blipping something different...


This is Rantakenttä, the local pesäpallo arena in Kitee town center. Pesäpallo is also known in English as "Finnish baseball". Although it's based on baseball, it also has a lot of differences compared to baseball (for example the pitching takes place in the home base, so hitting the ball is not an achievement in itself). Pesäpallo is said to be the Finnish national sport, however it's not the most popular one (that would be ice hockey). The top teams in pesäpallo tend to come from small towns with a long tradition in the sport. I think pesäpallo sometimes has a reputation as a bit of a redneck/hillbilly sport (which explains it's popularity in Kitee ;)). Kitee has a quite successful team, having won three Finnish championships within the last 10 years.


I will be away for the weekend, I'll be going to a cottage in Kuhmo with some friends and friends' friends. I will hopefully return with backblips.

Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.