What a wonderful world...

By KathH

Ullswater and the new rucksack

My plan - a relatively short walk near Ullswater, ideally to Silver Crag but starting with the flat easy track, with toddler doing as much as he could manage (i.e. the first mile or hopefully more) before my new rucksack was put into action to transport him the rest of the way or until we decided to turn around and come back.

What actually happened - toddler didn't want to walk anywhere, thanks very much. Especially once he realised that he could be carried! We laboured on thinking he'd get bored of being carried and want a bit of a run round, hence taking the hilly route up to Silver Crag rather than the flat walk. Hmm, didn't work - hence my rucksack was employed over the full 8km distance and 500m height.

Result - my plan to break the rucksack in gently with a short (i.e. 1-2km) and flat walk were completely scrapped. On the positive side I managed it! Feeling rather surprised and slightly smug. Can't say I don't feel a bit tired now but at least I've earned the chocolate I'm about to scoff.

We were also keeping an eye on the triathlon going on on the other side of the lake as the tannoy announcements were drifting across to us on the wind. It seemed to involve competitors swimming in Ullswater, cycling up to the A66 and back and then running somewhere hilly - the lot of them are mad if you ask me, though I can definitely see the attraction of doing all that exercise outside in this environment rather than stuck in a gym somewhere.

Not the greatest day weather wise although we did stay dry but Ullswater was looking as lovely as ever. This is a great circular walk and there are a few pubs in Patterdale to refuel afterwards. Every time I come up here I remember how much I love the Lake District, the sky, the mountains, the lakes...... :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.