Plus ça change...

By SooB

Movie night

Not quite. After a week of slightly earlier nights due to the return to school, we allowed the kids a late night watching Dad's Army* and Blackadder. The latter continues to go mostly over CarbBoy's head unless they're talking about goolies or farts, but I had to pause it a few times to stop TallGirl passing out through excessive giggling (at one point she actually had a blanket stuffed in her mouth).

Today was more cleaning and sorting involving largely window related cleaning for me (I've finally learned that leaving the shutters closed makes standing on the upstairs window sills to clean the outside bits less likely to result in a tumble groundwards) and mostly driving around the garden for Mr B. He was loading up for the tip, but I think it was mostly just a fun chance to take the 4x4 off-road.

Later there was chocolate cake baking, sweet corn relish making and yet more beans harvested from the garden. Given I was all set to pull the bean plants up a few weeks back, they've done rather well. And it looks like my promise to Mr B that there were no more courgettes to come may have been premature.

Tomorrow may be another ratatouille day...

Now at in-laws visit minus two. And beginning to feel rather stressed. Am medicating with Cotes du Rhone, loony telly and the gingerbread that I baked for my in-laws...

*Is it just me, or does that apostrophe feel like it's in the wrong place?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.