Doingok

By Doingok

County Fair Time

Stepping off the challenge today.

Even though I hate to see summer end, this can be a nice time of year in New England, local county fairs, cooler temperatures, bonfires, apples, cider, and those beautiful leaves changing colors.

I spent a couple of hours this morning judging the baked goods, tough job but someone has to do it. My co-judge and I walked Round before the fair officially opened and just checked it out. Not too many of the animals had arrived, but you have to love the goats. Lots of blue ribbon vegetables and flowers.

There are aspects of small town life and country folk with a strong community spirit that I love, though having been raised very close to Boston, I do feel as though I'm in a cultural wasteland at times. If one looks hard enough though, you can find it, you just may have to travel farther.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.