Sue's Eye View

By SuesEyeView

Very Poorly Bird

Isn't it amazing that when you don't have to wake up early, you do.

Hubby is away in Zurich (returning later today), so I thought it would be a great opportunity for me to have a lie in. No ... I woke at 5.48am and sleep would not return. I made myself a cuppa and returned to bed with the laptop and caught up on loads of your journals, something I would never do in bed if hubby was around!!!

It's been raining heavily on and off for most of the night but then at around 8.30ish slowed up. I wandered into the garden to check on Boris the spider, who was obviously luckier than me and was still having a lie in.

I then noticed, what I think, is a siskin trying to feed from the feeder. He didn't appear too well so I took a closer peek. He was soaked from the overnight rain and kept falling over. I took a couple of pictures before deciding that he should be moved to a safer place of comfort as Rascal (the assassin) was taking too much interest into the chirping noises it was making.

I knew he was very unwell when I picked him up in my hands and he didn't put up any resistance. I placed him in a box with straw, left water and seed and retreated to give him some peace and quiet.

Sorry, but you know what's coming ... when I checked on him at 11.30am, he had died. At least he was in comfort and not antagonized by Rascal in his last few hours.

I don't know what had happened to him but can anyone explain the white mites that are on his beak, is this normal?

Thank you all so very much for placing Bingo on Spotlight yesterday and for all the stars and hearts, she's a naughty Bingo but I adore her.

Enjoy your weekend.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.