Life In Wales

By KarenC

The Barbican

I've been to Lewes today to meet a friend from Belgium who moved back to the UK last summer. Vanessa lives about 40 minutes away from Brighton so we arranged to meet in Lewes which is about half way, and we went to Bill's for lunch. It was lovely to see her and it's great that we're so close - hopefully there'll be a lot more lunches from now on :-)

After lunch Vanessa had to leave to pick her daughter up from school, so I had a wander around the town and up to the castle. The castle was built in 1069 by William de Warenne who was the brother in law of William the Conquerer, and this shot is taken looking through the Barbican Gate towards Castle House. The castle itself stands at the highest point overlooking the town, and has panoramic views across Sussex so it will definitely be worth a visit sometime.

Anyway, I'm now getting ready to head out to my French class, so I'll catch up with you later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.