Behind the Scenes @hunterian

I was at Scotland's oldest public museum, The Hunterian, in Glasgow, today for a peek at the new Allan Ramsay/Portraits of the Enlightenment exhibition before it opens this Friday.

The exhibition was almost hung and as this pic shows, Mr Muscle was about to do his bit.

The portrait in the background is a recently restored portrait of one Archibald Campbell, third Duke of Argyll, painted in 1749 by Ramsay.

He's looking at me disapprovingly, I think, in this shot. Perhaps he's trying to tell me I shouldn't be taking his picture...*

One of the perks of writing about art is being given an exclusive tour of an exhibition by its curator and I had an hour or so in the erudite company of Mungo Campbell, deputy director of The Hunterian.

I've spent tonight writing about the exhibition, for this Friday's Herald.
I love finding out about artists and their work. Hope this comes across in the finished article...

It says on The Hunterian's Twitter feed that the first person to visit the exhibition on Friday will receive a free copy of a new publication written by Mungo and his colleagues to accompany the exhibition (RRP £35).

I've got the book here and it's a lovely looking publication. (Smells great too.) Doors open at 10am. The exhibition is on until January 5, 2014

* Later in, down in the main gallery, I was actually told off for taking a picture (of an Allan Ramsay info panel). The assistant eyed me up suspiciously when I told him it was for background info as I was writing about the artist for The Herald. Busted, as my son would say...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.