Haxan Cloak

I’d like to take a decent gig photo but I’m not sure it’s going to happen anytime soon. I was brave enough to take my decent camera this time but then I just whacked the ISO up, pointed and hoped for the best. A good gig, though, even if ‘Mr. Cloak’ (or, possibly, ‘the cloak’), as the support act (sorry, ‘special guest’), was a little sparcely attended. I suppose that his brand of icy, Blair-witch hauntology is something of an acquired taste, and not the obvious choice for a midweek night out. The Funky Buttons brand of visceral stadium techno was much more the thing, as was evidenced by the mixed crowd of twitchy, old rave drop-outs, drunken casuals and heavily-bearded hipsters, all bobbing merrily up and down to the beat. The volume was punishing, though, and my early arrival had lured me a bit closer to the front than is usually my wont – I’ve not been this gig deaf since I saw Flipper!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.