SEAGULLS!!

The weather looked good and I cycled with Piet Hein to the shore in the morning.
The moment we saw from the high cyclepath see the sea and the beach I saw immediately that there were so many gulls standing near or in the water, looking towards the waves, jumping over the surf, shrieking loudly.
High tide that is receding attracts them to the place, they find little shells or crabs in the undeep water.
We neared, Piet Hein took a swim in the sea, loving to dive into the high waves.
I of course took many pictures, many just for a try-out (sometimes one finds out later, sometimes one knows it right away).
We had wanted to walk along the beach but we just stood there, looking in awe, seeing permanently different scenes. One gull did find a tiny apple but left it, another took it and discarded it too. Some had a leg of a crab and looked around if another gull would like to steal it.
The weather stayed rather nice during the day after that.
I am reading the book by Charloote Chandler: "Hello, I must be going". Groucho and his friends. I read it before I fall asleep in the night, some pages, only now and then I read during the day. This was such a day. I suspect that I otherwise would never finish the book.

My haiku:

Packed at the seashore
Gulls as far as one can look
How much do they eat?

I ask this question myself because there were so many that did not bother to look for food, they just stood there.

And the proverb:

Wacht u voor de wormen die de letters opeten.

Translation: Beware of the worms who eat the letters (or types perhaps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.