the colour green

By jukeys

custard tarts

Have been catching up on the Great British Bake Off and they made custard tarts in the latest episode. I wanted to give them a go. Drove over to mum's with the the ingredients (and the rest of yesterday's spinach tart) to have for lunch.

The recipe isn't great in my opinion...or maybe it's just that I'm not great at custard tarts. The pastry was so wet, it just kept falling to bits and I had to add loads more flour. The custard is to be made with SEVEN egg yolks, so I did as the recipe stated and ended up with about 3/4 of a pint of custard leftover! Luckily, it didn't go to waste and I shoved it in the oven in a dish by itself. All in all, the tarts turned out OK in the end, plus I got to make a whole pile of meringues (7 egg whites' worth, in fact).

Big Skype with Luce tonight...a much-needed catch-up :)

<3 <3 <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.