Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

DRUM & MONKEY

THAT WAS THEN.

Reviewed 12 January 2013
A quick look at the recent reviews will show what has happened here and it is such a shame that what was once the best restaurant in Harrogate has fallen so far. I know Tripadvisor should not be seen as gospel but to now be 100th in the restaurant rankings just about says it all.
I notice that the Drum's PR manager is doing his best to respond positively to all the criticism but I think all the people who used to flock to the Drum in the past (I've been going for over 30 years) could tell the owner how to sort things in an instant. Sadly I see no signs of the good things coming back and every time I've visited in the last few years things have got worse.
The Drum used to thrive on a great atmosphere (the place was always full), extremely attentive staff, excellent seafood that was always fresh and consistently well cooked, and little touches that made you feel welcome. This was all priced to enable you to enjoy a fabulous meal and feel you were getting great value.

AND THIS IS NOW

Reviewed 15 August 2013
Having lived in Harrogate for over 40 years I have frequented the Drum and Monkey many times over that time. Having once been a firm favourite amongst the hoi polloi and food aficianados of Harrogate it had fallen out of favour in the last few years. I recently discovered that it had changed ownership and therefore my wife and I were intrigued to find out what changes had been made so we booked in for a meal for my birthday.
Our first impressions were excellent, as we walked into a freshly painted front door with a polished brass pushplate (I am a stickler for detail!). Whilst on the subject of decor it is clear that the new owners have invested in the restaurant as the carpets seemed new and it all seemed more up to date and relevant than on our last visit.
We were enthusiastically greeted by Sarah, the maitre d' who showed us to our table by the window. Although we were visiting on a Wednesday night the ambience was lively and it looked like our fellow diners were also enjoying themselves. We promptly received our menus and specials options and at the same time ordered a bottle of Muscadet Sur Lie, preferring that to the offer of an aperitif. Whilst on the subject of the wine, it is clear that whoever is choosing the wine knows what they are doing. It had all the classic flavours underpinned by a hint of salinity that complimented the seafood very well.
The menu was, as expected, fish based and looked to us to include some old classics which contrasted nicely with more modern fish dishes. My wife ordered the 6 oysters and the King Prawn Thai Curry, whilst I opted for the oysters followed by the cold seafood platter.
If you enjoy oysters, the ones served to us by the D&M were some of the best I have ever tasted! They really were that good.
Our main courses were of an equally high calibre and it was clear that the Chef really takes pride in his work. The curry wasn't overly spicey (a prior concern my wife had), and my seafood platter was sublime - as fresh as fish comes!
The service was attentive, yet unobtrusive and all in all we enjoyed one of the finest dining experiences we have had in Harrogate for many years. It is just great to have a good fish restaurant back on our doorstep! I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

WE'VE BEEN USING SARAH'S DADS RESTAURANT, THE SPORTSMAN'S ARMS IN WATH FOR OVER TWENTY YEARS, NICE TO SEE HIS TALENTS HAVE RUBBED OFF ONTO HIS DAUGHTER, I CAN HIGHLY RECOMMEND
THE DRUM & MONKEY, ONCE AGAIN THE BEST FISH RESTAURANT IN TOWN.

There are a few more photos of The Montpellier Quarter in Harrogate here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.