LindaCh

By LindaCh

Amazing Rainbow

In the four years I have lived in this house I have been fascinated by the beauty and variety of the skies above our hill top house. But I did think that I had seen most of what the skies had to offer to various degrees, but this morning this dawn rainbow took my breath away.

I didn't sleep well last night and was awake from about 4 am, so eventually I got up and tried to do some work on my computer.
Then I noticed a red glow in the sky and decided to go outside to watch the sunrise at the front of our house.
The sky was on fire and I was again amazed by the drama and the colours of the pre dawn sky - in those fleeting moments just before the tip of the sun peeks over the distant horizon. As I turned to go indoors to get my camera I was stunned to see this dawn rainbow in the skies behind me and opposite the sunrise.
I have not altered the colours at all in this photo. There was a very fine drizzle and the rising sun created this rainbow in the red sky. everything around me had a reddish cast to it and I was spellbound. This Photo does not do justice to this early morning spectacle - I feel so lucky to have witnessed this as it lasted only a few minutes.
Soon after the sun had risen the grey heavy clouds closed in and it rained all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.