Robin La Roca's journal

By robinlaroca

Cromer #1 - getting there

I was up by 6 and got the train from Liverpool Street to Norwich. I stayed on the next train until West Runton then made my way down Water Lane to the beach.

I hadn't walked along this stretch for 31 years, when I walked from Cromer to Blakeney, so I had some of the same music that I remember playing that day which was 'Combat Rock' by the Clash. 'Should I Stay Or Should I Go' is my walking pace, while 'Sean Flynn' is perfect music for a big Norfolk sky (although it's about anything but that).

So I made my way to Cromer along the beach, and arrived at the end of the prom on the west beach at exactly one o'clock. It's not a hugely long journey from London to Cromer, but when I get there I do feel very far away from it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.