CharlottesWorldWideWeb

By CharlotteJ

Hands up…



…who remembers the Wombles? I do, but just!

Great Uncle Bulgaria – the oldest and wisest of the Wimbledon Wombles and their leader. He is based on Beresford's father-in-law. He terrifies the younger Wombles with his stern manner (and particularly his habit of glaring at them through two pairs of spectacles) but is actually very kind – thank you Wiki

For Heart Freeks September Challenge – Unique

I was given Uncle Bulgaria by a lovely couple (Gracie and Jim) who I used to call Auntie and Uncle – they were my parents close friends. Uncle Jim was a bit of a stern man but extremely kind and caring. They did have a daughter who lived in another country and at the time seeing her was not a regular occurrence. I’m not sure who made Uncle Bulgaria but he is handmade and he used to sit next to Uncle Jim’s his chair for many many years. One year I has given Uncle Bulgaria….he then sat at the top of my parents stairs. When Chris and I moved house last year my parents thought it time that I had him back….so he now lives with me! Hes an odd thing really, but I like the fact that he is unique and handmade and no other like him, I won’t get rid of him, he’s a happy childhood reminder.

Well, enough with the sentimental stuff, best get on with the day job!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.