Aliscotia

By Aliscotia

Almshouses, Winchcombe

Thanks to everyone for their lovely comments on my 100th Blip yesterday.

I decided to get the bus to Winchcombe today to further my investigations to see if this is a place we could live. The bus takes 20 minutes out of rush hour which is fine, but the buses are only every 75 minutes. I guess it means you just have to carry the timetable with you.

I had a coffee in a lovely deli, checked out the two butchers and the little co-op and wandered around two very attractive gift shops before taking this shot and catching the bus back to Cheltenham.

These are Almshouses and were built for Emma Dent of Sudeley Castle (nearby) and date from 1865. ( I think the sepia treatment works on this shot?). We hope to visit the castle shortly, where Queen Katherine Parr, the surviving wife of King Henry VIII is buried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.