SkiMe

By SkiMe

Still Life

Not your usual fruit basket. ;-)

I took a picture of a bearing failure to catalogue for my work archives and decided it was blipworthy... The pictures I get back from the field technicians of problems usually leave a LOT of room for improvement. So, I was curious of how good of a photo I could produce in ideal conditions. Next week I get to visit this customer with the bearing issue and I will have the chance to take some field shots for myself!

My father, also a mechanical engineer, would recount sometimes about field problems and would always repeat his request to the field technicians... "give me a corpse, I need a corpse..." like a mortician to get to the root cause, you need to have the body in your hands - in this case, either by the information communicated, the actual part, or better yet visiting in person. I always have a lot of fun visiting customer sites on the rare occasions I get to go... you have to leave space to let questions develop and for the opportunity to let people talk. Always amazing how much information there is if you dig for it.

Hopefully, I didn't bore you to tears? I think it is quite interesting... haha, such an engi-ner'd!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.