In My Life

By AdianMcGarry

Lost Personal History...

I grew up in Wythenshawe, a suburb of Manchester. I was brought up in the Roman Catholic faith and attended St John Fisher and Thomas More primary school. The parish church of the same name was next door and was built around 1930. I attended church all through my childhood making my holy communion and confirmation there. I sang in the choir until leaving for secondary school aged 11. Later in life it was the scene of family christenings, more communions, confirmations and funerals. My Mum, who was school secretary for many years, had her funeral mass there in 2007 and that was the last time I visited. Today, I took a chance trip down memory lane due to road diversions and found to my surprise and more than a little sadness that the old church had been demolished a couple of years ago. Only the old gates remain. Evidently the repair costs outweighed the church's use and it closed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.