JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

Surveying the scene

To Kelvingrove Art Gallery in Glasgow today for the media preview of the Jack Vettriano retrospective exhibition.

Afterwards, I went in search of van Gogh's portrait of Alexander Reid in the French Room. Reid, a. Glaswegian, went on to become an influential art dealer but he was also Van Gogh's friend. I came across this view of Kelvingrove on the way to the portrait.

I was asked to write a few paragraphs last night for the Daily Record about self-taught Vettriano's claims that Van Gogh would have done the same thing as him and sold shedloads of prints of his work, had he had the opportunity.

My words were cut to the bone but in them, I talked about this painting of Reid and it made me want to see it. Van Gogh couldn't give away his work during his lifetime. It was only after he shot himself in the head that his work began to sell - and it was mainly down to the work done on his behalf by his loyal friend Alex Reid.

Now, of course, his work sells, particularly prints of his paintings. Which brings me back to Jack. Jack V divides critics and, from what I understand, is his own worst critic. Like van Gogh, his work sells in spadefuls and his prints fly off e-Bay like proverbial hot cakes.

I always like to see for myself and make my own mind up and, apart from his prints, I hadn't seen Vettriano's original work. I immediately find myself on his side because I don't like jumping on a bandwagon.

I missed the great man himself at the press call, but I did ask for an interview. Because I write about art for the Daily Record, this was fed back via various PRs, and as he doesn't much like the Record - they broke a story a few years ago about him copying early works such as the Singing Butler from a basic 'how to paint' book - he refused a one-to-one.

The fact that I am still thinking about it tells you that I haven't quite resolved what I think of the exhibition. I think it's easy to throw brickbats at a success story, but if I'm totally honest I have to say that seeing more than 100 Vettriano paintings in one confined space made me feel claustrophobic.

At one point I felt like I was struggling for breath. He sets up so many sexually charged, fantasy scenes that it's like being locked inside a bad erotic novel with no escape. Man meets strong sexy woman. Man makes woman submit. Dot. Dot. Dot.

Both parties scrub up well. Everyone smokes. In more ways that one. The paintings in this retrospective which really work are the 'selfies' - the self portraits. They are more painterly and somehow more touching than most of the work in this show.

What does that say about Jack Vettriano's work? I think it says that when are genuine with your art, you strike a chord.

I've borrowed that phrase from the late George Wyllie, but I think it is worth repeating.

Van Gogh's portrait of Alexander Reid - his friend and the man who would bring him immortally after he shot himself - was painted with genuine intent and affection.

I think that's what I found lacking in Jack Vettriano's work. But legions of people like it, so who am I? And anything which brings people to art is a good thing in my book, so take a bow Kelvingrove!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.