Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Reach for the stars!

My original Blip today was of some 70s looking building at Warwick University - but then I went and saw some pretty clouds outside. I'm too tired to do it justice so this is a stick it on the tripod and hold the shutter open for a random amount of time sort of shot, but I liked it.

In contrast to some of the buildings, the feel of Warwick University itself is far from old fashioned. The head of Economics, who spoke to us for over an hour, was quite extraordinary, funny, engaging, honest and articulate. I have an economics degree - none of my lecturers was even remotely like that, I was bored rigid for 3 years, absolutely no attempt to put economics into context, make it relevant or dare I say - sexy!!! If I could afford it (and if they'd have me!) I'd be half tempted to apply myself...

Anyway, David loved it and will apply there. Competition is tough, over 5000 applications for 400 places last year and so it's a process filled with much uncertainty. You might as well reach for the stars though....

So I was up at 5, we set off at 6.45 for a 9.30 start and we were late due to the bloody exit from the M1 being bloody well shut and the bloody diversion being via bloody Aberdeen or something like that. I do not cope well with being late. Vino and a bit of Ewan Mcgregor this evening, then an early night.

Thank you for all being so kind about yesterday's Blip, I will reply soon and catch up with your journals too xxxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.