Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Pirates of the Carribean?

No. Two of the bar staff at the Carpenters Arms in Harlington where I had a very nice lunch with big sister Kim and niece Pheobe.

Three lessons learned here:

Always carry your glasses - without them, you can't see the camera settings which I got very wrong, hence the blurryness of this photo
Sometimes the flash is necessary - I will avoid on camera flash unless absolutely necessary as it creates such harsh shadows and unnatural lighting. To be honest, I could have got away with it here IF I had set a high enough ISO but as I didn't have my glasses, I didn't know I hadn't and when reviewed on a 3" screen all looked well
Photoshop is my friend - If you take a look at the original, you will see that I have been able to just about salvage this shot in Photoshop. Without it, an otherwise interesting photo and a nice memory would have been consigned to the Recycle Bin.

Had afternoon tea at the 'Cakestand and Crumb' a delightful tea room in Ampthill that uses old furniture, old tea services and is decorated from floor to ceiling in 40s and 50s memorabilia. We even had Frank Sinatra playing on an old fashioned record player. This is somewhere we will be visiting again. RAF tea with my roast chicken and mango chutney sandwiches followed by Earl Grey with my gooseberry cream filed Victoria Sponge. Mmmm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.