dwalletta

By dwalletta

Among the garbage and the flowers

This was my home back in the super seventies; a communal student house where I learned how to wear maxie dresses, cook nut roast and roll special cigarettes, all the while studying sociology at Edinburgh University.

It was the lodge cottage to a big estate on the outskirts of town, which provided lots of opportunities for growing veg, having midnight conversations with the cows in the surrounding fields, and having large parties in the deserted stable block up the drive. Where I often regaled my friends by playing Suzanne on my guitar, until they begged me to stop.

All that's left of my room is the window on the first floor, where the field mice used to run amok when the lights went out, and the icicles needed to be chipped away on winter mornings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.