sheena888

By sheena888

The modern day Downton

Had a wander to the river at Wetheral. The weather was lovely and warm with patches of blue sky. This building is Corby Castle and sits high above the river. I am lucky enough to know exactly what it's like inside as I have been lucky enough to have actually visited - alas not as a guest. I managed to get a casual job there so when there was functions I got invited along. Fabulous property it's a different world to what I'm used to. Statues, carpet you sink into, marble bathrooms, gold leaf edgings amazing to see and to wait on was a privilege. But right in the middle is a big modern sitting room with huge modern tv and leather sofas! Huge kitchen with table etc not fancy but functional. The outside 'public areas' are very traditional and befitting of a country mansion and really rather special but good to see they have somewhere they can lie on the sofa and watch the telly. I wonder if Downton has a sitting room like that !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.