From where I'm sitting

By LoobyG

Nature watch

It's been quite a while since I've been inspired to pick up a camera to take a picture of something other than my children. Delightful though they are, this journal was never supposed to just be about them. Anyway, Littler G and I were hanging out the washing this afternoon in the glorious sunshine, and came across not 1, not 2, but 3 massive spiders with their webs beautifully and elegantly arranged across my (habitually) overgrown and untidy herb patch. I took about 10 shots, using various settings (none of which I can remember!), but this is just about my favourite.

It's nice to have some sunshine back, if only for an afternoon. Yesterday we didn't ever see the sky for all the cloud, and this morning was properly foggy, which made school drop off and my drive over to Letchworth rather less fun. But somewhere along the way the clouds lifted.

It's a cliché, but I feel they've lifted a bit for me too. It's been a busy time since the birthday fun of last week, but there's starting to be some light at the end of the tunnel and for once I came away from a Letchworth visit feeling useful and appreciated. It's a nice feeling. Must try to hang on to it.

(I should add, that these creatures are deemed beautiful only in this, their natural setting. If I were to discover one inside, I would no doubt be reaching for a dustpan or other means of ejecting them, rather than my camera!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.