Kath's Journal

By Kathb

Goldfinch - juvenile

On the Sunday before last, a juvenile goldfinch was picked up by a big gust of wind and smashed in to my kitchen window. I saw and heard it happen and it wasn't very pretty. I thought the bird was dead but picked it up and put it in a box. It came round a bit but wasn't doing very well so I put it in the hawthorn hedge and hoped for the best.

I now have a regular visitor. A visitor that is prepared to let me get within a few feet of it. I hope it is the same bird.

This afternoon I took a ride out to Pilling and saw a pair of little egrets on the marsh. I took photos but the birds were too far away for a good image.

Update: just heard some nonsense about birds flying into windows but I am not superstitious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.