Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Bathtime

I went out this evening to a literacy workshop at the school. The objective was so inform parents about the approach to teaching literacy in early years. I learnt some interesting things, including that they have a "no hands" policy. This means that the children are not asked to put their hands up to answer questions. Instead the teachers use a variety of methods like pulling names out of a box, holding up whiteboards or true/false cards to make sure that all the children get a chance to join in the lessons.

Part of the session was in Orla's classroom, so I was looking around for evidence of her work. They had drawn pictures and written a sentence on the topic "I was angry when...". I was rather taken aback to see that Orla's said "I was angry when my big brother threw stones at my face". I told her teacher that she doesn't have a big brother. She said she thought that, but Orla had insisted that she did and that his name was "something funny, like Rhea". When I got home I told Orla I'd been in her class and had seen this. She said "oh, I just made it up because I couldn't remember a time when I was angry".

Unfortunately Conor got really hungry while I was out, so Ed gave him a big long bath with Orla to distract him. It certainly seemed to work.

Conor was really unsettled last night. He was up for about 2 hours in the middle of the night. I think he's teething. Let's hope tonight is better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.