Diver Driver

By diverdriver

The Stumble Inn

This is a little hostelry situated at the top of a notorious local 'hillock!'

It was to be the next in my 'Hostelries visited on my Bike' series but unfortunately, it is only open on two evenings a week.

And Friday is not one of them.

I managed to make the most of the nice weather again and get a short ride in after work while Mrs DD was out at a youth group leaders' meeting.

The climb up to Bwlch - Y - Cibau, the village where the Inn is situated, was a challenge back in 2001 when I was training for LEJOG, so you can imagine how easy it was to climb some 12 years on.

And did I stop and walk part of the way? Did I 'eck.

After all, a man has got his pride don't you know. It may be mixed with a little bit of stupidity at my time of life, but pride it is nevertheless.

Guess who's going to sleep well tonight? At least until the alarm goes off at 0500!

The outcome of the story. I had to open a bottle all on my own at home!

Here's to the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.