Rosehips

Today's the day ....................... to revert

I used to have a wonderful rose in my garden called Blue Moon.

It was the closest you could get to an actual blue rose - something which rose-growers have been trying to do for a long time. It was a purplish blue colour, with a wonderful scent and it thrived for several years. Then it just seemed to die away.

I got quite excited this year when it suddenly started to sprout again. The shoots only had five leaves so I didn't think they were just suckers - and eventually, sure enough, there were flower buds. When they opened, however, they were a bit of a disappointment. My beautiful Blue Moon had reverted back to being just like a wild rose - which presumably was the original stock that had been grafted on to.

Ah well - at least it ended up with some lovely rosehips .....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.