Bittersweet

Today, the suicide prevention walk ("Out of Darkness") took place in downtown Washington. I worked the event by coordinating a group of photographers -- all volunteers -- to cover the various activities associated with the walk.

I'm exhausted. Physically for having spent 8 hours on my feet without a rest; but also emotionally. I spent quite a bit of time engaging with participants, many of whom came in teams walking in memory of a loved one. It didn't feel right to just snap pictures; I wanted to give them another opportunity (among many they had today) to talk about their person. The stories were heart-breaking; the ages of those who took their lives ranged from 14 to 77; some passed as recently as last week; others several years ago. Many of us are still struggling to make sense of it all.

Although my picture depicts sadness (it was taken at the end of the event when everyone reflected quietly over a song), it was good for everyone to come together and there were many joyous moments too. I am so glad I had the opportunity to participate in this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.