surely you can see

By petergarver

While I was at work today, I decided to catch the bus out to the art museum and hear the photography curator talk about the current installation, covering the last 50 years or so of portraiture from the collection.

I had seen the images before, but got a lot out of his talk, and had a nice time, even though I think I was the youngest non-student by at least 25 years.

My favorites from this particular installation are this by Larry Fink (ok online, great in person) and this impossibly amazing Alec Soth (also not so hot online). There is also a very large print of Avedon's beekeeper, about which I really have no words.

I also found out that he's been a curator there since before I was born. It seems like he does good work, and for the first time in his tenure there, he now has more than an awful little hallway to show photography - a very nice new gallery that he was happy to show off to us tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.