Theleens

By Theleens

Mill River Playground

I was only meant to do three hours but I just couldn't help myself. That mound of wood chip had to disappear. Lester provided me with a wheelbarrow, shovel, fork, rake and a brush, and off I went.

There is something calming about early mornings outdoors. Makes you feel so happy.

Hour after hour loading the wheelbarrow, dumping the wood chip into a pile on the ground, getting out the fork and spreading the chip, then grabbing the rake and slowly raking the ground so that it was nice and even. In some places I had to use my hands cupped with wood chip and sprinkle the wood chip onto edges so that it was spot on. Then I used my boots to stand on the playground rim so that the wood chip would be anchored. In some parts it made sense to get on my knees and use my arms to equally scatter the wood chip. Brian and I are similar: we like to do a job well. The difference is that I still need some training :-).

He's a good mentor.

The pile of wood chip is still there, but it has gone down considerably.

See yesterday's entry for the low-down

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.