KarmaTengye

By KarmaTengye

Life is full of paradoxes

I've been little more than a delivery woman today, dropping off programme materials with the youth workers in the various poverty stricken areas in this beautiful city. The ugly side of Cape Town and yet I have met more generous, compassionate souls here than in other parts. I laughed out loud when I dropped off materials at this site, which the youth had said was urgent. It is the Athlone School for the Blind which incidentally is nowhere near Athlone. These are the three youths who are presenting the Teenage Girl empowerment programme for us, and being paid a small salary by the City.
Then off to meet the next group at the Shell garage in Gugulethu, that's the only direction I was given! Thank goodness I stick out like a sore thumb as they spotted me and waved me down. This young man was so excited about the work he was doing. Wonderful.
Thanks for you lovely messages, the appointment is tomorrow. I'm clearly anxious to get it done as I got my dates mixed up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.