horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

I call him Tiny...

"Why's that?"
Because he's my newt *b'dum tish*

Leaving the drumming class tonight, having refused all offers of lifts home for my usual chilled plug-into-music--and-relax walk home, I remarked to myself a number of times... "My, it's raining a tad heavier than I thought it was." So damp was it, in fact, that a couple of frogs scarpered up a driveway in our street as I passed. "Yep, it's wet," I considered further.

Then on our path... A blinkin' newt?!?!??

Naturally I had to have a closer look, picked it up into the light. Lovely spotted belly (which I think makes it a smooth newt), tiny cute wee thing. Obviously I had to show Mel (who immediately declared it 'lovely'), before putting it back where I found it. Appears to have moved on half an hour later. There are a few ponds in gardens round here, so I presume it came from one of them and decided on a wander in the rain.

Lovely end to a day punctuated by bits of stress that, frankly, are my own responses to situations that I need to manage better. Still glad there are only a couple of days to the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.