rhobley1

By ruthie1

'Wonderful Light'

I've always loved photographs. I remember I got my first camera when I was eight. We went to portugal and I still have the photos I took on holiday that year.

My parents regularly take photos and always have. Growing up our house was full of photograph albums, framed photos, cameras, film cases, battery chargers and lens covers. My dad takes landscapes, abstract, arty pictures. My mum tends to take people, places; photographs to record an event. They both take their cameras wherever they go.

As long as I can remember My Dad has always taken amazing photographs. Well, they used to be slides when we were kids. We would look forward to the slides arriving through the post, Dad would set up his screen, turn the lights down and we would all sit round for a slideshow. Dad would look for ages at each shot, studying every little detail and if it was one of his favourite mountains we could be looking at it for ages! :-)
There was something special though about seeing the photographs on the big screen and something my mum and dad would often say (and still do) is "Wonderful light."
It became a bit of a joke with one of their friends and I didn't appreciate it at the time but I know exactly what they mean now.
Today as I was driving I just had to stop to capture this 'wonderful light'.
Thanks mum and dad for inspiring me, this one's for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.