A MIMent In Time

By justmim

Sssssaturday.

Sunshine, solitude, scones & stew.

Saturday!

This morning was a celebration in not needing to set my alarm. In reality I didn't sleep incredibly late, however the extra couple of hours in comparison with my mid-week waking time was refreshing :)

Groceries and cleaning were done with gusto (& some grump...how dare they move the aisles around!) to make way for baking, running and cooking.

Mary Berry's recipe produced the most convincing scones that I have baked yet; even after I took the first batch out half way through (I had forgotten to put egg/milk on top & for some reason thought pale scones would be less desirable than flat scones) and used smaller eggs than called for.

After having struggled with my run on Thursday I was not particularly relishing the thought of going up a notch today, however I genuinely enjoyed it! When I started the programme I told myself that if (!) I got to week 5, with each of the run intervals lasting 5 minutes, I would take my route to the Meadows. So that's what I finally did today and it really wasn't all that bad. Not wearing my glasses has an "if I can't see them, they can't see me" effect, which helps in the fear of seeing people I know department!

Oh, and a first for me today - making stew! Requires a little bit of patience waiting for it to do its thing in the oven but really simple and so, so tasty! Not sure why I had neglected it in the past, however I will definitely be doing it again.

Feeling that relaxed Saturday evening feeling :) God is so faithful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.