TrishaR

By TrishaR

End of an Era!

After 36 years and 44 days, our boss retired today, and he will be much missed by all his colleagues, especially us guys here. Gemmer took this picture of the three of us that have worked with Ian the longest. We decorated his desk with balloons, a cake was baked and there was a steady stream of people at his desk to wish him well for the future. There was a presentation at his desk mid morning by the CE, who gave a nice speech with some funny stories (given by me!). It was quite emotional when Ian gave his reply as his voice was shaky - he thought in the morning that it would be just like another day, and was surprised at how emotional he felt.

He took all his department out for a meal and drinks at a local restaurant and we presented him with a collection and gifts and there was speeches and much laughter. A great night :-)

We will all miss Ian very much. He was a much respected member of the Company, wise, pragmatic, laid back, approachable and treated everyone the same. I think in all my 19 years working with him, I have only seen him lost his rag a couple of times (with good reason too!!!). As we sat together, I will miss our daily chats and laughs over a cuppa. He gave me much support and advice this past year and I appreciate very much his kindness.

Gonna be very strange on Monday sitting next to that empty chair - and the tidy desk. I must clean up my desk space (or not much space) - we do have a clear desk policy and I am failing miserably (as you can see........).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.