Mellimeldisiel

By Mellimeldisiel

Riding in the Rain

So today looked lovely from the start, I got a new pannier rack put on my bag, which is lovely and means I don't have to break my back under a heavy rucksack this year! I went down to Yorkshire with uni today, working in a school to talk to kids about Uni and their choices after sixth form. Poor things seemed so scared about life after uni I almost felt bad making them think about it. Almost.

I got back after a long 4 hour round trip in a car, and went for a drink, then onto another training session for university work, and then outside into the refreshing, and sudden, downpour. No other choice apart from cycling home in the rain, with the wind beating into me, and the rain blinding me so much that I had to squint to keep my eyes on the quickly dissipating path in front of me. It was tough work, and part of me just wanted to get out of the driving rain and into the warm, but part of me loved it, the rain streaming down my neck cooled me down, and the silence broken gently by the lashing rain was beautiful.

Everything just seems different in the rain, more magical somehow. In it's literal form, it is just water falling from the sky, but in a poetical sense, it's the lifeblood of nature itself washing the earth. Very beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.